The Crowns mechanic doesn't make sense to me. The rules say if you turn over a Crown and it has the correct suit, you would return the Ace for that suit - but you can only search for unclaimed suits. Therefore the scenario can't happen. Furthermore, even if this could happen, you're being penalized for guessing the correct suit, which goes against the idea of a memory game.
Date: 03 Jan 2009 04:57
Number of posts: 2
RSS: New posts
I think the intent in the rules is a mechanic to extend play when a crown is found, in general. a better way to put it would be: "If the card revealed contains that suit, claim the Ace of the suit you were searching for. If the card is a crown, turn in the claimed Ace of that suit, if you have it." It's introducing danger areas to remember to avoid, so you don't lose an Ace you had claimed on an earlier turn.